MUSÉE D'ART DE NANTES

accueil

For this exhibition, the American artist Tony Oursler takes over the Chapelle de l’Oratoire with an original installation designed specifically for the place.

16-–-Portrait-de-Tony-Oursler.jpgThrough this immersive work, the artist invites visitors on a journey that combines visual references to the history of hypnotism and various contemporary anxieties linked to digital technologies, from smartphones to big data.

Born in New York in 1957, Tony Oursler is a major figure on the American art scene. It was at Cal Arts (California Institute of Arts) that he made his first video tapes and met the artist Mike Kelley, with whom he founded an experimental punk-rock band, The Poetics, in 1977.
Within video art, Tony Oursler uses a form of theatricality that hybridizes a wide variety of mediums: video, film, photography, painting, sculpture but also musical and soundtracks that are the subject of specific work. Very early on, he broadened the notion of screens to include unusual media, on the scale of architecture and public space, but also, on rag dummies (the famous dummies or dolls that appeared in 1992 and made him famous on the international art scene), in narrative and spectacular installations made up of sets that are both burlesque and tragic in nature.

His works can be found in the largest collections, such as the Centre Pompidou. His work was recently presented at the MoMA in New York, resulting in the publication of a catalogue of his personal collection of historical documents related to the popular culture of entertainment, the occult and magic shows.

 

Credits:
Portrait de Tony Oursler © Courtesy of the artist

Tony Oursler's immersive installation – Chapelle
- Performers: Emily Allan, Jean Brassard, Dominique Bousquet, Sarah de Burgh, Jason Scott Henderson, Leah Hennessey, David Johansen, Joy Mattar, Ruby McCollister, E.J. O'Hara, Brandon Olson, Jack Oursler, Emilie Rochefort, Samantina Zenon
- Editing: Jack Colton
- Props: Corey Riddell

October 16, 2020 - January 31, 2021

Cube -1 and Chapelle de l'Oratoire
 

< Hypnose
Haut de page

MUSÉE D'ART DE NANTES

accueil

Pour cette exposition, l’artiste américain Tony Oursler investit la Chapelle de l’Oratoire avec une installation inédite conçue spécifiquement pour le lieu.

16-–-Portrait-de-Tony-Oursler.jpgPar cette œuvre immersive, l’artiste propose un parcours où se mêlent des références visuelles à l’histoire de l’hypnotisme et à diverses angoisses contemporaines liées aux technologies numériques, du smartphone au big data.

Né à New York en 1957, Tony Oursler est une figure majeure de la scène artistique américaine. C’est à Cal Arts (California Institute of Arts) qu’il réalise ses premières bandes vidéo et qu’il rencontre l’artiste Mike Kelley avec lequel il fonde en 1977 un groupe de punk-rock expérimental, The Poetics.
Au sein de l’art vidéo, Tony Oursler fait appel à une forme de théâtralisation qui hybride une grande variété de médiums : vidéo, film, photographie, peinture, sculptures mais aussi bandes musicales et sonores qui font l’objet d’un travail spécifique. Il a très tôt étendu la conception de l’écran à des supports inusités, à l’échelle de l’architecture et de l’espace public mais aussi, sur des mannequins de chiffons (les fameux dummies ou poupées qui apparaissent en 1992 et qui l’ont rendu célèbre sur la scène artistique internationale), dans des installations narratives et spectaculaires, constituées de décors à caractère burlesque et tragique à la fois.

Ses œuvres figurent dans les plus grandes collections, comme celle du Centre Pompidou. Son travail a récemment été présenté au MoMA de New York, donnant lieu à l’édition d’un catalogue de sa collection personnelle de documents historiques liés à la culture populaire du divertissement, de l’occultisme et des spectacles de magie.

 

Légende et crédits :
* Portrait de Tony Oursler © Courtesy of the artist

Installation immersive dans la Chapelle de l'Oratoire :
- Acteurs : Emily Allan, Jean Brassard, Dominique Bousquet, Sarah de Burgh, Jason Scott Henderson, Leah Hennessey, David Johansen, Joy Mattar, Ruby McCollister, E.J. O'Hara, Brandon Olson, Jack Oursler, Emilie Rochefort, Samantina Zenon
- Montage : Jack Colton
- Accessoires : Corey Riddell

Du 16 octobre 2020 au 31 janvier 2021

Cube -1 et Chapelle de l'Oratoire

 

En savoir plus sur Tony Oursler
tonyoursler.com

 

< Hypnose
Haut de page